Ted Dutkiewicz Invitational Recap

More than 500 runners were at Holyoke Community College for Saturday’s 27th annual Ted Dutkiewicz Invitational.

East Longmeadow’s Charlie Klatka won a competitive battle in the boys’ varsity race where the top three broke 16 minutes for the three-mile course. Klataka, a senior, was timed in 15:42.0 for the victory. Northampton’s Theodore King-Pollet finished nearly 100 meters behind in 15:54 for second. Taking third was Frontier Regional freshman Evan Redlund in 15:58.11. Nathan Hale-Ray (CT) captured the team title by scoring 71 points.

Northampton’s Maeve O’Neil earned the girls’ title, and led the Blue Devils to the team crown. The NHS junior clocked 19:28.30 to edge Hale Ray’s Sara Evans, who crossed the line at 19:32.5.2. Minnechuag’s Ava Ofcarcik took the bronze with a time of 20:29.86. Northampton defeated second-place Hampshire Regional, 54-72.

In the freshmen boys’ race, Northampton teammates Henry Daggett (12:39.86) and Isaiah Carnevale (12:49.18) went 1-2 on the 2.14-mile course. As a team, the Blue Devils scored just 35 points to claim top honors.

Minnechaug’s Kay Dickson won the girls’ race in 14:16.80. Finishing second was Mohawk Trail’s Virginia Krezmien with a time of 14:32.96. Addison Hill of Granby (CT) took third overall in 14:48.26. MInnechaug beat runner-up Mohawk Trail. 43-71, for the team title.

Northampton’s Elias Krasny held off a flurry of West Springfield sophomores to take the boys’ JV race in 12:31.26. He was followed by the Terriers’ Matt Ashe (second, 12:33.68). Christopher Aguilar (third, 12:34.65) and Kenniell Velez Santiago (fourth, 12:38.13). West Springfield scored 42 points to win the team plaque.

Lenox Memorial’s underclassmen had an impressive showing in the girls’ JV race with three of its runners among the top four. Seventh-graders Gianna Love and Leah Basnet went 1-2 with times of 16:07.21 and 16:08.75, respectively. Northampton’s Sihe Austin was third at 16:10.87. Lenox Memorial eighth-grader Sarah Chevalier was fifth in 16:17.30. No surprise, Lenox won the team title with 47 points.

Share Your Thoughts